Tags

, , , , , ,

Lorde MAC[Image via MAC]

Lorde is a New Zealand singer/ songwriter with a gothic style. When Lorde first popped up on my radar with her song “Royals”, I had lukewarm feelings about it. Then I loved “Team” and now I am obsessed with “Tennis court”

On Thursday, June 5, 2014, I got an email from MAC saying the Lorde’s mini MAC collection was available online. I quickly hurried to buy the lipstick as soon as humanly possible because new MAC collections tend to sell out fast (e.g. The Maleficent collection and the Kelly & Sharon Osbourne collection) I was really excited that I got free overnight shipping. (I want it now) It cost me $16.00 dollars and I got it in the mail on Friday.

MAC box

(This is what I got in the mail. What a big box for a lipstick. It makes a statement; I love it)

mac tube

( Pure Heroine lipstick packaging. Nothing special here )

Lorde Mac Pure Herion

( Label)

photo (69)

( The lipstick looks really dark in the tube)

Pure Herion Swatch

( This is a swatch of the lipstick. It is not as scary when it is applied.)

 Lorde’s lipstick Pure Heroine is a deep plum amplified lipstick. My first thought was “is there heroine in this?” That would be one way to keep a boyfriend. He thinks he is in love with you but really he is addicted to the heroine in your lipstick. Or the name of her album is Pure Heroine. That would explain the name of her lipstick. The packaging of the lipstick is basic MAC lipstick packaging. The lipstick smells like vanilla and smells really good. Seeing the deep plum in person is a little bit scary. It is really dark and a little bit out of my lipstick comfort zone. I put the lipstick on and it is not as dark as it appears in the tube. This lipstick defiantly makes my teeth look whiter.

Lorde Mac Lipstick

( Me wearing the lipstick. I blended  it out a little bit.)

Verdict: I asked my mom if she liked my lipstick. She smiled and in her sing song voice said no. This lipstick is definitely not my style and I would not wear it in my everyday makeup but I like it. Right now I am all about trying new things. I think this lipstick would be great for a night out at The Wine Loft. (It’s my favorite hot spot and it’s dark in there.) I would definitely wear this lipstick with Lorde’s signature winged eyeliner look.

Take away: If you are looking for something dark and different you are going to love this lipstick. If you like pink to nude lipsticks you are going to hate this lipstick with a fiery passion.

What do you think about Lorde’s MAC lipstick in Pure Heroine?