Tags

, , ,

mrs-crabtreeI have been at my inventory job for about a month. It is an easy job; all I have to do is count merchandise and record it on a small handheld computer. It was a bit stressful at first but everything stresses me out but now it’s not so bad. It is minimum wage paying job and a lot of the people that work there are questionable at best. Most people that I work with look like they are on Meth, so I am like the most attractive person there except this one guy that looks like a young Ashton Kutcher. Everyone that I have worked with smells really bad and looks like they have not showered since 2008. Also I am the only person that does not smoke.  It is not my dream job but I am so grateful that I have a job.

When I go to work I drive to a meet spot which is a Kmart and then take the company bus to the store. Last week, I went to a fabric store in Ashville, NC which was a 2 and a half hour drive away. I had to be at the bus stop at 3:45 AM so I left my travel trailer at 2:45AM to get there early to make sure I got a seat on the bus. I did not want to drive my car, which is on its last leg and only still running by the grace of God, to Ashville. I got there early and the bus was late. When the bus got there I noticed that only a few people got on the bus and the rest were waiting in their cars. I thought that it was weird but got on the bus. Then another bus pulled up and the rest of the people got on the bus.

On the bus I sat next to this lady and she was very large. So I was squished up against the window and she smelled really bad like an egg mcmuffin had gotten lost in one of her rolls and had been marinating there for months. Then for the first hour and a half she was on her cell phone responding to emails on a naughty dating site. Her cell phone was so bright like a flashlight in my eyes. It was 4AM in the morning! I thought it was so rude. Everyone else in the van was trying to sleep the least she could go was turn down the brightness setting. I was really annoyed.

Then there was the bus driver aka the reason no one wanted to ride on this bus. To paint a visual, she looks like a real life version of the bus driver on South Park.  She sang along to the radio the whole way which sounded like a cat being strangled. It was bad and but even the main issue I have with her which is that she can’t drive. I can’t drive well and I own that. This lady makes me look like the world’s greatest driver. To be quite honest it was terrifying. It had iced the night before and we were swerving all over the road; it was like being on a roller coaster. She kept missing turns and once when we turned around we spun on the ice and almost hit a stop sign. The lady beside me started flipping out, yelling at the driver “You can’t F***ing drive. They should have never let you drive in this f***ing weather.” Then the bus driver started yelling back at her. It was not pretty; it was a miracle that we made it to the store in one piece. To make it worse we were late.